Blue Lines & Brook Trout

P6190022E.jpg

There certainly seems to be a “life cycle” as a fly fisherman with various stages that allow anglers to enjoy their passion in a variety of ways. Some of these stages could be exploring new water, targeting a new species of fish, or chasing after that “stud” fish of a lifetime. I think every angler has a bucket list, and the beauty of fly fishing is that bucket list can vary drastically depending on personal preferences and the resources available.

Last week I revisited the first stage or birthplace, if you will, for me personally as a fly fisherman. Nearly 15 years ago, my grandfather took me to a small mountain stream in Central Pennsylvania that you can literally jump across searching for native brook trout. It was the first time I caught the fever of fly fishing. It was also the first time I caught a fish on my own with a fly that I had tied myself.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I will never forget that day, that fish, or that fly. Since then, fly fishing has opened my eyes to endless miles of water that connected me with a large network of anglers and dear friends.

Last weekend for Father’s Day, I had the opportunity to revisit that small mountain stream with my dad and grandfather. It was a very special experience getting back to the roots of my fly fishing career. I didn’t find a fish larger than 6 inches, but each and every fish caught felt like a trophy.

As I worked up through that cherished section of water, my mind couldn’t help but recollect on all the experiences I have had, things I have learned, places I’ve explored, or people I have met since that first day 15 years ago. Fly fishing has played a critical part in molding me into the person that I am today, as I’m sure it has with many other anglers as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That small mountain stream with native brook trout is merely a thin blue line on a map to the average eye. To me, it serves as the birthplace of my fly fishing career. Where did your story begin?

 

Please “Like” The Flow – Fly Fishing Blog on Facebook: www.facebook.com/fishingflow

 

3 thoughts on “Blue Lines & Brook Trout”

  1. My experience parallels yours and probably many others who don’t care about numbers of fish, or size, but more about those out of the way places that wild fish still inhabit. I started fishing small streams in south central PA with my grandfather over 40 years ago and I still fish small streams often and probably enjoy them even more than I did as a young boy, fondly remembering the man who had a huge influence on my life and who has long since passed into glory!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

